Maryland Reform

Maryland Reform

Maryland has established its own marketplace, Maryland Health Connection, as part of implementing the Affordable Care Act.  In addition, the state is reforming other areas of health care beyond health insurance.  There are extensive resources available to help consumers in Maryland to learn about the state’s reform efforts, to enroll in health insurance or to assist them with problems.

Important Maryland Health Insurance Links

Enroll in health insurance in Maryland at Maryland Health Connection.

Maryland Health Benefit Exchange manages the state health insurance marketplace.

Maryland Insurance Administration regulates the insurance industry and assists consumers with insurance needs.

Maryland Attorney General’s Health Education and Advocacy Unit helps consumers whose health plan has refused to cover a medical procedure or to pay for a medical service that has already been provided.

Maryland has received a waiver from CMS, which modernizes the state’s  unique all-payer rate-setting system for hospital services. View a presentation about the project.

Learn more about Maryland’s payment and delivery system reform initiatives.

Maryland Health Connection – Get the facts

Before Enrolling – Get Prepared – view information on insurance plan benefits and rate scenarios.

Maryland Health Connection FAQs – Get answer to your health coverage questions.

Be sure to check out the Coalition’s Factsheet on Maryland Health Connection.

Maryland Health Connection Overview

Consumer Assistance

Maryland Health Connection has a consumer support center with a toll-free phone line and a team of trained and qualified representatives to answer your questions.  Call 855.MHC(642).8572 or 855.MHC(642).8573 for TTY, Monday to Friday, 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.; Saturday 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Sunday 8 a.m.-2 p.m.

Using Connectors  A network of consumer assistance organizations, known as Connector Entities, are working in communities statewide to provide one-on-one assistance and explain the enrollment process.

– Central Region (Includes Baltimore City, Baltimore County and Anne Arundel County)

– Southern Region (Includes Calvert, Charles and St. Mary’s Counties)

– Upper Eastern Shore Region (Includes Harford, Cecil, Kent, Queen Anne’s, Talbot, Caroline, and Dorchester Counties)

– Lower Eastern Shore Region (Includes Somerset, Wicomico and Worcester Counties)

– Western Region (Includes Allegany, Carroll, Frederick, Garrett, Howard and Washington Counties)

– Capital Region (Includes Montgomery and Prince George’s Counties)